Dartmoor Commoners Council


The commoners of most commons or groups of commons have formed management associations (Local Commoners' Associations; LCAs), which are in turn grouped in the historic north, south, east and west ‘quarters’ of Dartmoor. Under the Dartmoor Commons Act of 1985 each quarter elects five commoners to represent them on a central Dartmoor Commoners’ Council. All must be from different associations and one of the five must be a ‘small grazier’ with a right to graze less than 10 livestock units (each unit equals one adult cow or pony or 5 sheep).

The Council also has seats for two representatives of owners of the commons, two from the Dartmoor National Park Authority, one from the Duchy of Cornwall and a vet. It can co-opt two more members in addition to the 26 just named.

The Commoners’ Council makes regulations about most matters, which concern the management of the commons, the welfare of the stock de-pastured there and arbitrates in disputes between commoners. When necessary it enforces against breaches of the Regulations by going to court. The National Park Authority makes byelaws to regulate public access and behaviour under the same Act.


Menu Bar

Home Page

Dartmoor Commons
- The Plant Cover
- Life & Traditions
- The Public Benefit
- Animals on the Moor
- Injured & Sick Animals
- Hefting or Learing
- Swaling
- Pony Drifts
- Clearance of Sheep
- The Future

The Council
- Organisation
- Functions & Duties
- Members
- Local Commoners' Associations
- Regulations
- History
- Members Declaration of Interests
- Officers of Council wef July 2021


Useful Links

Accessibility Statement

Full Graphics Website

Website by WesternWeb Ltd

Last updated 6th January 2022