Skip to content
Burrator, Dartmoor

Latest News

Dartmoor Commoners' Council Elections 2024

The following commoners have been appointed on to Council with effect from 1 July 2024: North: Mr John Cooper, Ms Tracy May & Mrs Kate Little So Read more...


Councilís response to Review Recommendations - Dartmoor Commoners Council acknowledges the time and effort put into compiling this review by David Read more...

Loss of Livestock

Council is continuing to monitor reports of missing livestock in order to gain a better understanding of the scale of the issue, be able to identify i Read more...

About Dartmoor Commoners' Council

Dartmoor is an upland region of moorland in the county of Devon, in the southwest of England. It covers approximately 368 square miles, and rises to 621m (2037 ft) above sea level. Underlying the moor is Carboniferous granite, which is visible at the surface as tors - rocky outcrops at the summits of many of the hills.

The Moor was designated a National Park in 1951. Nearly 36000 hectares (88900 acres) of the Park is common land, some 37% of the Park's whole area and more than 75% of its moorland. Importantly, the commons form the heartland of Dartmoor and that vast open space which is the main reason for its National Park status.

Under the Dartmoor Commons Act (1985), the Dartmoor Commoners' Council was established to represent the commoners, make regulations about most matters, which concern the management of the commons and the welfare of the stock de-pastured on the commons, and to enforce the Dartmoor Commoners' Council Regulations.

More Information ››